Follow us:

To Be The Best Performing Seaports in Africa

Call Us

+264 64 208 2111

Email Us
 24 Mar 2020

Photo credits: New Era: President Geingob locks down two regions


President Hage Geingob has announced a lockdown of the Khomas and Erongo regions from 27 March midnight to curb the spread of COVID-19.
Seven people, three Namibians, have so far tested positive for the Coronavirus.
A 44-year-old Namibian male, a pilot, went to Johannesburg on 7 February and returned on 13 February 2020.  He had a visitor who is a fellow pilot from South Africa before he got sick.
Samples were taken and the result came out positive. Arrangements have been made to put him in isolation.

The sixth case is a 21-year-old Namibian male, a student studying at WITS University in South Africa. He was tested in South Africa but travelled back before results came out.  He is admitted in isolation.
During the lockdown, state-owned enterprises (SOE) employees and civil servants are urged to work from home for the next 14 days, except those providing critical services.
In light of the rising cases of this disease, Cabinet has decided to further strengthen the National response and adopted various measures.
The travel ban is extended to all countries for 30 days and applies to all Namibians and permanent residents.
Special circumstances for the admission of certain persons into Namibia will be considered and approved depending on the nature of travel to be undertaken, and the criticality of such mission to the national interest and safety and security of Namibia.
All returning Namibians and permanent residents arriving from high-risk countries are subjected to mandatory supervised quarantine for 14 days, at own cost.
Special dispensation applies to business, commerce and trade missions and activities only from neighbouring countries, on a reciprocal basis, to facilitate the flow of supplies, goods, commodities and services.
The public is urged to remain at home and avoid public gatherings at places such as bars, shebeens, nightclubs and markets.
The law enforcement organs will enforce these measures.
Internal travel restrictions will apply with respect to Khomas and Erongo regions, for a period of 21 days starting on Friday, 27 March and ending
Thursday, 16 April.
Oshikango, Katwitwi, Wenela, Buitepos, Ariamsvlei, Noordoewer, Luderitz and Walvis Bay ports of entry are closed for passengers.
Parliament is suspended for 21 days starting
Wednesday, 25 March to Thursday, 14
Private health service providers must inform the
Ministry of Health and Social Services immediately upon identify a suspected case.

Video - President Geingob locks down two regions